17 CMS magnet schools nationally recognized for excellence


Seventeen magnet schools in Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools have been recognized by Magnet Schools of America (MSA), the national association for specialized programs. The awards are given to schools that show a strong commitment to academic standards, demonstrate curriculum innovation and have diversity in enrollment.

The association's top honor is the Magnet School of Excellence Award. Nine CMS schools received it. Eight additional schools were identified as a Magnet School of Distinction.

"Our district takes great pride in the depth and breadth of our specialized magnet programs," said Superintendent Ann Clark. "It is wonderful to have so many of our schools nationally recognized for excellence. Magnet programs allow us to offer the personalized education to meet the needs of individual students. These awards affirm our commitment to educating every student well and show that we are achieving our goals."

The 17 CMS winners were among 244 public schools in 20 states nationally recognized in 2017 by MSA. To be considered, a school must submit a detailed application, which is scored by a panel of educators. In addition to academics, curriculum and diversity, the schools are also judged on community partnerships and parent involvement.

The nine CMS schools recognized as a Magnet School of Excellence were E.E. Waddell Language Academy, East Mecklenburg High, Elizabeth Traditional Elementary, Idlewild Elementary, J.M. Alexander Middle, Legette Blythe Elementary, Palisades Park Elementary, Shamrock Gardens Elementary and Tuckaseegee Elementary. The eight schools recognized as a Magnet School of Distinction were Albemarle Road Middle, Collinswood Language Academy, First Ward Creative Arts Academy, Highland Mill Montessori, Huntingtowne Farms Elementary, Irwin Academic Center, John Motley Morehead STEM Academy and Oaklawn Language Academy.

The awards will be formally presented at the Magnet Schools of America conference in Los Angeles at the end of April. For more information about the association and the awards, click here.