94 teachers honored by Charlotte Teachers Institute

Charlotte Teachers Institute honored 94 Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools teachers in December for accomplishments that include the writing of 1,900 pages of new curriculum accessible by teachers worldwide.

The teachers, called CTI Fellows, completed CTI seminars led by Davidson College and UNC Charlotte professors. They expanded the impact of what they were learning by developing the new curriculum units for their own students, and for other teachers via the CTI and Yale National Initiative (YNI) websites. CTI recognized Fellows’ work at its 2012 Fellows’ Finale Celebration at the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art.

The educators represent every grade level, with 29 elementary, 25 middle and 40 high school teachers. They teach subjects ranging from art to biology, world history to foreign languages and ESL, language arts and costume design to physics, and math to technology. 

“Together, these teachers spent nearly 3,000 hours attending CTI seminars at Davidson College and UNC Charlotte,” said CTI Executive Director Scott Gartlan. “In addition, they spent time reading and researching, and writing the original curriculum units. They plan to share their curriculum units with nearly 500 other CMS teachers, and 7,425 CMS students will learn from the units the teachers created this year.”

The Charlotte Teachers Institute is an educational partnership among Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Davidson College and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, working to improve teaching in CMS. CTI cultivates content-knowledge, creativity, leadership skills and collaboration within and among Charlotte’s public school teachers.

CTI provides teachers and higher education faculty with a transformative experience that changes their teaching forever, Gartlan said. This year’s Fellows have collectively taught for over 1,080 years, or 11.6 years per teacher. Of those combined years, they have taught 807 in CMS.  They plan to teach a combined 1,177 additional years.

Each CTI Fellow received three continuing education units and a stipend for seminar completion. Additionally, each Fellow is now eligible to apply to attend the YNI Summer Intensive Seminars at Yale University in July 2013.

The honored teachers are listed below.




 Albemarle Road Elementary

 Melanie Kirschner

 Bailey Middle

 Lysa Craig

 Alexandra Edwards

 Nicki Kincaid

 Jennifer Ladanyi

 Jann Peck

 Stacy Small Swanson

 Bain Elementary

 Jennifer  Dalesandro

 Krystal Guevara

 Barringer Academic Center

 Lisa Ashworth

 Lucy Beaube

 Mindy Passe

 Elouise Payton

 Carmel Middle

 Ella Boyd

 Julie Ruziska Tiddy

 Clear Creek Elementary

 Jashonai Payne

 Cochrane Collegiate Academy

 La Tanya Sanford

 Collinswood Language Academy

 Karen Donaldson

 Croft Community School

 Kristin Arko

 David Cox Road Elementary

 Lyndsay Burns

 Torrieann Dooley

 Davidson Elementary

 Nicole Fraser

 Troy Gray

 Margaret Hershey-Mason

 Robin McLennon

 East Mecklenburg High

 Lawrence Bosc

 Rochelle Gray

 Jeff Joyce

 Debra Semmler

 May Winiarski

 Connie Wood

 Eastway Middle

 Jose Rios

 Elizabeth Traditional Elementary

 Courtney Pender

 Cynthia Woolery

 Francis Bradley Middle

 Colleen Casey

 Monica Echols

 Kathryn Vey

 Megan Citeroni Woazeah

 Harding University High

 Gloria Brinkman

 Madalina Corneanu

 Melissa Yoch

 Independence High

 Tamara Babulski

 Matthew Kelly

 Susan Sparks

 Katie Willett

 Emily Williams

 Michelle Zachrich

 Irwin Academic Center

 Daniel Barber

 J.V. Washam Elementary

 Emily Abernathy

 Jennifer Sieracki

 James Martin Middle

 StaceyAnne Hartberger

 Jay M. Robinson Middle

 Courtney Armstrong

 Mark Buzzee

 Brittany Head

 John M. Morehead STEM Academy

 Kia Dessaure

 Lansdowne Elementary

 Miesha Gadsden

 David Morway

 Lincoln Heights Elementary

 Lakesha Heath

 Christie Johnson

 Mallard Creek High

 Leah Conway

 Elizabeth Lasure

 Patrick O'Neil

 Viloki Patel

 Martin Luther King Middle

 Stefanie Carter-Dodson

 Myers Park High

 Tiffany DiMatteo

 Janet Raybon

 Nathaniel Alexander Elementary

 DeShea Jones

 North Mecklenburg High

 Amy Strong

 Northwest School of the Arts

 Wendy Kimball

 Lucinda Supernavage

 Barbara Wesselman

 Oakdale Elementary

 Minnie Griffin

 Benjamin Lewis

 Providence High

 Sean Baker

 Lindsey Elkins

 Marva Hutchinson

 Susan Jenkins

 Randolph Middle

 Lakeirra Booth

 Delee Hall Marciano

 Sarah Hunt

 Michael Pillsbury

 South Charlotte Middle

 Randall Carswell

 Vance High

 Allison Baker

 W.A. Hough High

 Elizabeth Brang

 Torrie Edwards

 Julie McConnell

 Stephanie Misko

 Morgan Andrews

 West Charlotte High

 Kurma Murrain-Collins

 Ingryd Soto

 Monica  Trujillo

 Whitewater Middle

 Intisar Hamidullah

 Winding Springs Elementary

 Deborah Jung

 Paula  Williams