Seven CMS students win National Merit scholarships

Seven students in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools class of 2017 have won National Merit scholarships. The scholarships of $2,500 are awarded by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. and chosen from more than 15,000 finalists nationwide.

The $2,500 winners are those with the strongest accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous post-secondary study. Funding for the scholarships comes from either the National Merit Scholarship Corp. or its corporate foundation partners. Students may use the awards at any regionally accredited American college or university.

The competition began in October 2015, when more than 1.6 million high school juniors in more than 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. In the fall of 2016, the highest-scoring participants in each state were chosen as semifinalists and continued in the competition. Another round of winners will be announced in June; in all, about 7,500 students will earn more than $32 million in college scholarships in 2017.

In Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Ardrey Kell High had the highest number of winners, with three students earning the scholarship. Providence High had two winners. East Meck and Levine Middle College High each had one.

Elizabeth R. Dorans, Samhitha Sunkara and Michael Xing were the winners at Ardrey Kell. Mark J. Schachner and Jordan Ari Schuler were the winners at Providence. Minh-Anh Le Dinh was the East Meck winner and Sara Hailu was the winner at Levine Middle College.​

The May 10 announcement was the second round of winners to be announced. The National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced some winners April 19 and there will be additional announcements on June 7 and July 17.