Board of Education

 October 28, 2014, Board of Education Meeting Notice:   Meeting will take place in the auditorium of Garinger High School, 1100 Eastway Drive,  Charlotte, NC 28205.  The business portion of the regular board meeting (open session) will start at 5:00 pm and will be followed by a public hearing on the proposed 2015-2016 student assignment and school options that were presented at the October 14 board meeting.  Following is the format for the public hearing.

2015-2016 Student Assignment and Boundary Proposals (20 minutes each with 2 minutes maximum per speaker)

  • Hickory Grove/Windsor Park/Albemarle Road Relief School
  • Highland Creek Relief School
  • Oakhurst STEAM
  • Starmount
  • Southwest Area Middle Magnet

Community Boundary Requests (10 minutes each with 2 minutes maximum per speaker)

  • Woodbury Community
  • Providence Commons
  • Glenfinnan and Strathmoor
  • Surface Hill Road

You may register to speak by calling the Board Services Office at (980)343-5139.  Only one name per caller will be registered.  Registration will open on Thursday, October 23, and continue until the time allotted is filled. 

 Board of Education Members

Mary T. McCray
Timothy S. Morgan
Ericka Ellis-Stewart
Member At-Large
Rhonda Lennon
Member District 1
Thelma Byers-Bailey, Esq.
Member District 2
Joyce Davis Waddell, PhD
Member District 3
Tom Tate
Member District 4
Eric C. Davis
Member District 5
Paul Bailey
Member District 6

Responsibilities of the Board of Education

As the governing body of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, the Board of Education has five key areas of responsibility:

  1. Hiring/firing the superintendent/CEO;
  2. Establishing school district policy;
  3. Determining the annual operating and capital budgets;
  4. Approving student assignment boundaries; and,
  5. Overseeing the management of the school district’s major systems, including budget and finance, curriculum and instruction, personnel and auxiliary services.


The CMS Board of Education includes six district representatives and three at-large representatives. District and at-large representatives are elected every two years on a rotating schedule. All members serve four-year terms. For more information, visit the Board of Elections Website.

 Meeting Schedule

The CMS Board of Education normally meets the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. (open session) and 4:30 p.m. (closed session, when needed) at the Government Center, 600 East Fourth Street, Charlotte, NC 28202. The Board may conduct an annual retreat session to establish priorities and plan its work for the upcoming year.

2014 Board of Education Meeting Schedule:  January 14, January 28, February 11, February 25, March 11, March 25, April 8, April 22, May 13, May 27, June 10, June 24, July 22, August 12, August 26, September 9, September 23, October 14, October 28, November 19 (Wednesday), and December 9.

Professional Development

New Board of Education members participate in a CMS orientation program. 

All Board members participate in various North Carolina School Board Association training and conferences (NCSBA).  In addition, they may choose to attend training and educational conferences offered by Broad Foundation, National School Board Association, Council of Great City Schools and other organizations.