Media Room
Management Team

​​​​​​​​​​​​The CMS management team is comprised of executive staff,  learning community superintendents and other CMS leaders. To contact a member of the management team, click on the appropriate contact link and complete the form, including your name, address, phone number, email address, e​​tc.


Ann B. Clark

View Ann Clark’s bio
Contact Ann Clark


Kathryn Block
Chief Communications Officer

View Kathryn Block's bio
Contact Kathryn Block

Sheila W. Shirley
Chief Financial Officer

View Sheila Shirley’s bio
Contact Sheila Shirley

Carol Stamper
Chief Operating Officer

View Carol Stamper’s bio
Contact Carol Stamper​

Avery Mitchell
Chief Human Resources Officer

View Avery Mitchell’s bio
Contact Avery Mitchell

Dawn Robinson
Chief School Performance Officer

View Dawn Robinson’s bio
​Contact Dawn Robinson​

Brian F. Schultz
Chief Academic Officer

Frank D. Barnes
Chief Accountability Officer

View Frank Barnes’ bio
Contact Frank Barnes

Dr. Valerie Truesdale
Chief of Technology,
​Personalization and Engagement

View Dr. Truesdale’s bio
Contact Valerie Truesdale

George Battle, III
General Counsel

View George Battle’s bio
Contact George Battle

Gina Howell Smith
Assistant Superintendent for
​Exceptional Children

LaTarzja Henry
Assistant Superintendent for Community Partnerships and Parent Engagement

View LaTarzja Henry's bio
Contact LaTarzja Henry

Akeshia Craven-Howell
Assistant Superintendent of the 
Office of School Options, Innovation & Design

 View Akeshia Craven-Howell’s bio
Contact Akeshia Craven-Howell


Scott McCully
Executive Director of Student Placement

View Scott McCully's bio
Contact Scott McCully

Talla Rittenhouse
Executive Director, Strategy Management

​​Gantt, Sonja_7652.jpg

 Sonja Gantt
Executive Director,
​CMS Public Schools Foundation

​​​Gill Ivey4726_k.jpg

Ivy Gill
Principal in Residence


Charlotte Nadja Trez
Executive Director,
English Language Learner Services

CMS Learning Community Superintenden​ts


Nancy Brightwell
East Learning Community Superintendent

View Nancy Brightwell’s bio
Contact Nancy Brightwell

Dr. Matthew Hayes
North Learning Community Superintendent

View Dr. Hayes' bio
Contact Dr. Hayes


Kondra Rattley
Beacon Learning Community Superintendent

View Kondra Rattley’s bio
Contact Kondra Rattley

Kathy Elling
South Learning Community Superintendent

View Kathy Elling's bio
Contact Kathy Elling

John Wall
New Learning Community Superintendent   

View John Wall’s bio
Contact John Wall

Tara Lynn Sullivan
Central Learning Community 

View Tara Lynn Sullivan’s bio
Contact Tara Lynn Sullivan

Charity E. Bell
Northeast Learning Community Superintendent

View Charity Bell’s bio
Contact Charity Bell

Denise Watts
Project L.I.F.T Superintendent

View Denise Watts’ bio
Contact Denise Watts

Paul Pratt
West Learning Community Superintendent (West Mecklenburg)

Curtis Carroll
West Learning Community Superintendent (Harding/Phillip O. Berry)