Parent Toolkit
How is CMS organized?

CMS is a large and diverse district, with more than 135,000 students attending 173 schools spread across Mecklenburg County. In order to meet the needs of our many, diverse students and their parents, we decentralized in the 2006-2007 school year.

CMS is divided into six geographically based learning communities. A seventh, the Achievement Zone, is comprised of a group of struggling schools that require additional resources to succeed. Each learning community is led by an area superintendent, who directs the principals in that learning community’s schools as well as the staff at each learning community office.

The Achievement Zone is located in the Educational Center downtown (701 E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd). The other six learning communities are located near the centers of the geographic areas they serve.

Below you will find a map of the area learning communities, a list of schools in each one and contact information for the area superintendents.

Learning Communities