The CMS management team is comprised of executive staff, learning community superintendents and other CMS leaders.

Hugh Hattabaugh

Interim Superintendent

Executive Staff


Northwest learning community superintendent

Nancy Brightwell - Executive Director SW Learning Commmunity.jpg

Scott McCully(1).jpg

Dr. Kondra Rattley.jpg

Christine Pejot

Brian Schultz.jpg

André Mayes

General Counsel

Crystal Hill
Chief of Staff

Dr. Matthew Hayes
Deputy Superintendent of Academics

Nancy Brightwell
Chief Academic Officer

Dr. Frank Barnes
Chief Accountability Officer

Scott McCully
Chief of Compliance Officer

Shayla Cannady
Chief Communications Officer

Dr. Kondra Rattley
Chief of Equity and School Performance

Sheila W. Shirley

Chief Financial Officer

Christine Pejot
Chief Human Resources Officer

Brian Schultz
Chief Operations Officer

Trish Sexton
Associate Superintendent, 
Elementary Schools

Laura Francisco

Associate Superintendent, Human Resources


Acquanetta S. Edmond


Beth Thompson - Assistant Superintendent of Academics.jpg

Avery Mitchell

Associate Superintendent, Middle Schools

Dr. Ann White
Associate Superintendent, Student Services

Dr. Raymond Barnes
Community Superintendent
Central 1 Learning

Tara Lynn Sullivan

Community Superintendent
Central 2 Learning

John Wall

Community Superintendent
Northeast Learning

Acquanetta Edmond

Community Superintendent
Northwest Learning

Dr. Tangela Williams

Community Superintendent
Southeast Learning

Dr. Stephen Esposito

Community Superintendent
Southwest Learning

Beth Thompson
Assistant Superintendent, Academics

Lisa Mangum

Chief of CMS Police

P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website ( is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.